You Don’t Want to Hear from Me.

A picture of me from one of the more exciting things I did: backpacking in Wales.
A picture of me from one of the more exciting things I did: backpacking in Wales.

When I was a junior in college, I tried to start a lifestyle blog. I’m not even going to tell you what it was, because I don’t need you hunting it down. The point is that it was bad. The quality wasn’t terrible, but I had no idea what I was doing, and an insincerity took over that accomplished nothing except make me look like a pandering fool.

I’ve always had a desire to share my writing (and really my work in general) with people, and I think that’s why I’ve tried to blog so much. But moving to London is the first time that anyone aside from my closest supporters have expressed an interest in reading what I have to say online. The truth is that blogging is boring unless you have something interesting to say, and up until now my life has been markedly ordinary.

But what makes my life now extraordinary? I have an internship that I think is cool, yes, but some of you do far more fascinating things on a daily basis. I take classes, but I only have a couple of things per term that I can share with you guys from that part of my life. (And yes, I will have my fiction assignment up soon, for those of you who have asked. Still waiting on feedback, then I’ll edit and post.) I’ve done a bit of traveling, and I will certainly post something about my recent and upcoming trips.

But other than that, which is nothing more than anyone else does, I just kind of live life. I think that’s the double-edged sword of being here for a longer, less defined period: you get time to really experience what mundane, daily life is like in another place, but your life also seems notably less exciting to other people.

That’s why I haven’t posted in a while. I’m busy living life: managing campaigns and writing copy at work, reading and writing for class, working on my novel, and going out with friends on the weekend. If you wanted to hear about that, you would have asked me to blog while I was in America. The only difference is that now I’m in the UK. And honestly, only about 40 people read these posts anyway.

I know this all sounds a bit cheeky. Sorry for that. And, as I mentioned before, I always have loved sharing my work with people, so I’m not going to stop blogging. Just know that my posts are probably going to be more reflective of the life I’m living and less of some romanticised adventure that everyone, including myself, seemed to expect. Those expectations are faulty. And while that makes for a richer, more complex life, it’s not quite as conducive to thrilling blog posts. #SorryNotSorry

4 thoughts on “You Don’t Want to Hear from Me.

  1. I am glad to get YOU and your version of ordinary. You help out the mundane mightily–you give it a great leg-up, just by existing inside of it.

    The appropriate response to this comment is, “Yes, that is true,” because you are the bomb.com.

    I love you for blessing the glorious trudge through 24-hour-blocks by being present and sincerely so.

    Like

Leave a Reply

