How to Write Your Own Recipes // RECIPE: Double Chocolate Banana Bread

img_3841I’m not a chef, pastry or otherwise. I used to write my own cupcake recipes in college, but that was just starting with a base recipe and making minor alterations. I’m pretty sure that base recipe was loosely adapted from a recipe I found on Pinterest. My biggest success creating my own recipe is my chocolate chip cookies, which I will never ever share with you because they get such rave reviews and I’m selfish. But even that recipe, which is very much my own developed through years of trial and error, was derived from someone else’s at one point.

The truth is that certain things when put together are going to make a cookie, and there’s really not a huge variation on that. You can fluctuate amounts of certain ingredients or add in new ones to create new flavors, but if you get too far away from the base set of ingredients then you mess with the chemistry and end up with something unrecognizable.

The reality is that writing recipes is pretty much the same as writing fiction: there’s nothing new under the sun, and you’re going to have to employ tropes and structures and patterns that hundreds of thousands of people before you have used. So where does it cross into plagiarism?

With both media, it’s the same answer for me: if you’re trying to pass something off as your own that you know you didn’t create, it’s plagiarism. If you’re genuinely excited about something you’ve thought of and it’s not copied from another source, then it’s fine.

Today I created this double chocolate banana bread recipe. I knew roughly how to make banana bread from my college roommate’s mother, but I didn’t remember the specifics, so I refreshed my memory here. For the sake of transparency, I want you to know that.

But from there, I took a lot of creative license. I only had 3 bananas, and I knew I wanted to do something super chocolatey because of lady issues. So I edited the proportions, swapped the sugar for brown sugar, and dumped a bunch of chocolate in. I also added butter AND greek yogurt because I remembered both of those things adding elements that I wanted (which was basically for this thing to be more cake than bread).

So, without further ado, here is my double chocolate banana bread recipe:

Double Chocolate Banana Bread

Ingredients

  • 3 SUPER ripe bananas (see photo below for how ripe ours were)
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted then cooled
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 large egg, or 1 1/2 medium eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 3 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/3 cup plain greek yogurt (I use full fat)
  • 1 1/4 cup all purpose or plain flour
  • 150g milk chocolate chips (they sell them in 100g packs here and I didn’t measure them as I was pouring, but I imagine this is about 1/2 cup)

img_3850

Process

  • Preheat oven to 350 F, 175 C (160 fan)
  • Mash bananas in a bowl; it’s okay if
  • Mix in eggs, vanilla, salt, butter, greek yogurt, cocoa powder, and flour, and stir until well combined
  • Fold in chocolate chips
  • Grease and flour a 5×9 in (or 24×12.5 cm) loaf pan (be sure to do this really well) and fill with batter
  • Bake for about 55 minutes (you can’t really test for doneness because of the chocolate chips, but if you want to do the stab test just make sure whatever comes off is pure milk chocolate)

Finished Product

So I’m really new at this and forgot to take pictures of the process, so all I have are a couple of shots of the finished product.

img_3849

What you get is a bread that tastes and looks more like a cake, and that’s fine with me. If you cut this into 1/2 inch slices, you should get about 14 of them, each clocking in at just 190 calories. The slices aren’t huge, but I really wanted to make them under 200 calories a piece.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy this if you choose to make it! I may try my hand at posting other recipes, or I may run away after this with my tail between my legs. But either way, enjoy the chocolatey goodness!

3 thoughts on “How to Write Your Own Recipes // RECIPE: Double Chocolate Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

