Things I’m Obsessed With: April and May 2017

It’s time for another post where I tell a bunch of non-existent readers the things I currently love JUST IN CASE someone cares enough to try something out. Here we go.

My Running Playlist

So I’ve been running. Those of you who know me will know that this has happened before: I get all excited about getting into shape, sign up for a race, run on and off until then, and then don’t put on a trainer/tennis shoe/whatever you wanna call it for months afterward. But this time is serious business because I’ve signed up for TWO races, a 5k in June and a 10k in August. To help my training I’ve developed the perfect running playlists, where most of the songs have BPMs that match my stride and those that don’t are motivating for other reasons. It’s mostly music that would make my grandmother turn over in her grave, but I don’t even care because I’m starting to mayyyyybe actually like running? Or, at least, the feeling when I’ve done it….

Anyway, find my playlist here.

A post shared by Susan Moore (@be_better_gym) on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:52pm PDT

 

Omnivore Salt

Alex and I brought back some Omnivore Salt from America last month and we’re already halfway through a bag. It has fennel and some other stuff in it and we love it. Between that, the Trader Joe’s Everyday Seasoning, and the grits we brought back, our kitchen is as American as we can manage over here.

 

RuPaul’s Drag Race

I’m so late to the game, but I binged Seasons 2-8 in like 3 weeks and am now watching Season 9 when it comes on Netflix on Saturdays. I’m seriously obsessed.

A post shared by Di Bruno Bros. (@dibrunobros) on Feb 10, 2017 at 8:55am PST

 

Balsamic-Glazed Meat+Veg

Every person, when attempting to be better at making real food for themselves, needs a moment where they find a dish they enjoy eating over and over again and feel good about. Mine is currently balsamic-glazed INSERT MEAT HERE with mash and roasted veg. I’ve had salmon, chicken, and sausage so far, and all three work well. My favourite veg to use is asparagus, peppers, and courgette (zucchini). You literally just chop the veg roughly and put it on a baking sheet with the meat on top (cook the veg down a bit beforehand if using salmon since it doesn’t take as long to cook), coat everything in balsamic glaze and salt+pepper, and make the mash while it’s in the oven. Then throw it all on a plate and eat it. It’s SO EASY AND SO GOOD.

 

Gel Nails

I blame my friend Victoria for this one. I love having my nails painted, but I am horrible about chipping or scratching them the second they’re done. When Vic did my nails with gel polish at her house, it changed my life. That was only two months ago, and I already have 12 polishes and an LED kit at home. It’s been especially revolutionary for my toenails. Hasta la vista, nasty toes.

Leave a Reply

